The “Gamer” Label

ScreenShot00762

What exactly is a “gamer”? Is it even a useful label?

The topic has been doing the rounds on the MMO blogosphere lately, and the very fact that so many people have felt compelled to comment tells us that people have strong feelings about labels, one way and another. (Either that, or they are just glad to have a topic to seize on for Blaugust!)

I don’t think it’s entirely a storm in a social media teacup, it’s something that is on people’s minds without the promptings of Twitter or questionnaires. For example…

Whether or not I would call myself a “Gamer” (let alone a “Real Gamer”) is something I do think about now and again. It’s not a label I usually apply to myself, even though I’ve played video games for thirty-five years almost without a break.

Bhagpuss

Are Labels Useful?

One school of thought is that labels like “gamer” are arbitrary and of little use.

Another topic going around has been an attempt to define what a “gamer” or a “real gamer” is. While I am not as dismissive as some, it does seem to be a futile effort to expand or contract a label to fit an imperfect and varying set of assumptions. I play video games. Isn’t that enough?

Wilhelm

Personally I think labels can be fairly useful, depending on what use you intend to put them to. Dividing the world into categories is a basic part of everyday thinking, even when most such categories are fairly fuzzy and vague. What exactly constitutes a “geek” or a “gamer” or “fantasy” is necessarily loosely defined. All the same, labels like that are important for thinking and communicating. For example we can make pretty meaningful statements that would otherwise be difficult to put in words, like:

  • Game of Thrones is fantasy that is enjoyed by more than just the usual geeks.
  • Raspberry Pi was meant to be for kids, but most of them are bought by adult geeks.
  • I play LOTRO, but I’m not much of a gamer otherwise

While labels make people bristle sometimes, it’s hard to think, talk and function without using them.

The Trouble with Labels

As essential as labels are, they can also be problematic. From what I can see, there are several major ways in which they cause problems.

Simplistic Understanding of Categories

Understanding the world through simple categories is where we all have to start. Whether it’s as children learning about life newly, or adults coming as newbies to some field of knowledge, the full complexity of any field is not something we can handle to begin with. And if we don’t need to progress beyond the beginner level, it may be that simplified understanding is all we’ll ever need or ever have.

Some of the over-simplistic thinking that we’re liable to:

  • Imagining there is a hard-and-fast cut off point, and the label neatly divides the world into two groups. You’re either a gamer, or you’re not.
  • Underestimating the diversity of the group. We have a picture of what a “gamer” is, and don’t realize that even if that picture might fit a sizable chunk of people who play games, there might be even more that don’t fit that picture.

Stereotypes – Good, Bad and Ugly

Gollum mural

Is there such a thing as a good stereotype? I’d suggest there kind of is, though perhaps it would be best to not use the word “stereotype” for it!

Dividing the world up into categories and having a picture of a representative member of the category that is used for thinking about the whole group is one of the basic ways the mind works. If for some reason you need to think about students, families, seniors or pets, your starting point at least will be some picture of a typical student, family, senior or pet. You might know perfectly well that there are all shapes and sizes of families, that some seniors run marathons, and some people have pet tigers, but for most everyday thinking and talking, it’s reasonable to go with the simplified stereotyped picture. If someone asks if a hotel is suitable for seniors it would be odd if you replied: “Absolutely, the rock climbing around there is great!” If they asked “Do they allow pets?”, it would be bizarre to reply: “Only dogs and cats, no chimps or tigers.”

A good stereotype is one that is fairly accurate and fairly representative of the group as a whole. It’s a simplification, but a useful one when you need to think or talk about the group and don’t have lots of time and energy to spend on sophisticated analysis.

A bad stereotype could be one that is inaccurate. For example if we imagine that the average age of MMO players is 17 when in fact it is 30, our stereotype is grossly misleading, and our thinking based on it will be deeply flawed.

More subtly, a bad stereotype could be one that is insufficiently representative. If the average age of MMO players is 30, but the age spread of players is so large that we’re nearly as likely to come across a 15 year old or a 65 year old as a 30 year old, our mental picture of the 30 year old player could still be seriously unhelpful.

In practice a lot of us have bad stereotypes in these senses in a lot of areas of our lives. This is for the simple reason that we tend to only come across skewed, highly unrepresentative cross-sections of the groups we talk about, and never know what the group as a whole looks like. That goes even when we are actually members of those groups ourselves – for example the people we hang out with in MMOs can be totally unrepresentative of MMO players as whole. Maybe we started playing with a bunch of our school or college friends, and as they’re all of the same age group, we imagine that age is the typical age of players. Or maybe we always gravitate to guilds with more mature players, and imagine that is the typical age. Or perversely maybe we imagine the players we know personally are unusual, but they are actually pretty typical of the player base.

The concept of “ugly” stereotypes meanwhile lead us on to the topic of the social dynamics of labels.

Labels and Social Dynamics

ScreenShot00283

Apparently, there was much discussion yesterday on Twitter about trying to define the term “Gamer” and specifically, who gets to claim the term.

Rowan

It seems that someone was spouting off in their lack of knowledge that tablet and mobile gamers were in some way lesser gamers than the those on the console or PC. This once again gets back to the definition of what exactly a gamer is. Over on the Moderate Peril blog he questioned exactly why we need a label at all. In other hobbies, you don’t see the attempt to exclude people the way that we do within gaming.

Belghast

As human beings we are social animals, with many drives and concerns that take precedence over thinking clearly or understanding the world accurately. In particular we are often preoccupied with matters of belonging, identity and status. Things like…

  • Am I really a part of this group?
  • Am I accepted by the others in the group?
  • What is my place in the pecking order?
  • What is the status of my group in society?
  • Does being considered part of this group mean kudos or derision for me?
  • Is my group better than group X?
  • How can I present myself so as to look good to the people around me?

I think Belghast was wrong in the quote above that: “In other hobbies, you don’t see the attempt to exclude people the way that we do within gaming”. On the contrary, with most kinds of activity that people engage in from watching sports to drinking wine there are all kind of snobberies, reverse snobberies, social hierarchies and ways in which people use labels to look down on others, or to give themselves a sense of superiority. In pretty much any hobby or activity you’ll find groups of people that match descriptions like:

  • Hard-core and proud of it
  • Casual and apologetic about it
  • Casual and feels superior to those they see as “taking it all too seriously”
  • Casual but tries to give the impression of being pretty hard-core
  • Hard-core but tries to give the impression of being pretty casual
  • Insecure about whether they deserve the label
  • Reluctant to accept the label because of negative associations
  • Eager to claim the label because of positive associations
  • Highly engaged and looking down on the less committed
  • Highly engaged but maintaining everyone is equal regardless

This kind of adding on layers of judgments goes with just about any factual label that can be applied to a human being. Any fact about you, someone somewhere will judge you based on it. And some will judge you negatively for the very things that others judge you positively for.

A Useful “Gamer” Label?

A couple of properties are probably important for a label to be useful.

  • Differentiation… the label identifies a somewhat distinctive group. There is not much point in having a label of “movie watcher” in a society where the vast majority of people watch movies to some degree. But a label like “movie buff” has a place.
  • Broad Agreement… while we’re all free to define terms however we want, for the purpose of holding sensible conversations and communicating our ideas, we need to have reasonably broad agreement about what the label means. It doesn’t have to be universal agreement, as long as most of the time most of us have roughly the same idea of what a movie buff or a gamer might be.

Defining anyone that’s ever played Angry Birds as a gamer is therefore not going to be useful. That’s not a judgment on Angry Birds or the people who play it, just a recognition that since nearly everyone has played games of that sort, it is not particularly useful to focus on those people as a distinct group. It also seems likely to be a recipe for confusion if we decided to call them gamers, because there are plenty of people that won’t be thinking of the term in that way, and we’ll be talking at cross purposes all the time.

I’m inclined to use “gamer” as a term similar to “movie buff”. That would be someone who is especially interested in games, and for whom they are a particularly important part of their life. That could be someone who plays a good deal, or someone who follows the scene with interest. They could be into PC, console or mobile games, but they do have to be “into them”.

So… am I a gamer then?

It seems blindingly obvious that I am a gamer, but I do cringe somewhat at the label.

While I’m undoubtedly more casual than many gamers, I do have a number of MMOs installed, a Steam account, a bunch of PC games etc. I follow game blogs, listen to game podcasts, and even have a game blog of my own, albeit that I don’t post here all that frequently. Any jury would find me guilty as charged.

If I resist the label, it’s only for reasons of the social dynamics and stereotypes alluded to before. There is still some stigma associated with being a gamer, at least in some circles. And there are probably few if any circles in which being a gamer is going to positively arouse anyone’s admiration and respect.

Being a gamer is an aspect of me, but not one that I would want to be principally defined by in anyone’s mind.

13 thoughts on “The “Gamer” Label

  1. I find that most people with any type of life experience or propensity to analyze are reluctant to take on labels, themselves. We want to believe that we are too complex to be defined by a single word, which we are. What’s interesting to me is that we’re not necessarily adverse to using labels to describe groups of other people, mainly due to the reasons you list above. Great post, I think you hit both the necessity for, and the danger of labels right on the head!

  2. This is the best post I’ve read on this topic (and there have been a lot!). I think your argument is wonderfully clear and well-drawn. I could take that list of descriptions and attach each of them to blogs in my blog list or Feedly index.

    YOur conclusion is equally sound. I think that equating the term “Gamer” with “Movie buff” is extremely useful. A term for “everyone who plays video games” may be admirable for its inclusiveness but it’s so inclusive it doesn’t really tell you anything at all. In our current cultural mode almost everyone plays games of some kind to some degree. On the other hand, we should all be able to agree on, and use, a specific term for those people who both play games and also maintain an emotional connection for and/or intellectual curiosity about them.

    Using that definition I would be very happy to accept the label.

    • I guess we could try to invent a new term like “game buff”.

      It’s the way of scorned social groups to keep trying to make new labels for themselves hoping to slide out from under the negative associations. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Link Dead Radio: Weekly wrap ups | Healing the masses

  4. Thank you for this, I’ve been getting increasingly annoyed with the discussions about the word “gamer” and the “gamer identity” which seem to hinge on a question begging definition of gamer. Yes, if you define gamer very broadly then you’ll end up calling a lot of people included in your definition, that isn’t an indictment of the word gamer but rather an indictment of your definition.

    Gamer to me seems like a question of self identity, if you ask someone to list important things about themselves where would “gamer” or “plays video games” come up? For me its probably in the top 5, for other folks maybe top 10 but for some people it probably won’t come up at all. We can argue where the brightline is to consider someone a “real gamer” but realistically if a gamer identity comes up without someone having to struggle for more descriptors I think thats enough.

    I also think the point about stratification within group identification is a really good one, groups stratify all the time. If you go over to Deadspin and read the “Why your team sucks” series every team complains about idiot fans and bandwagon fans. This whole “death of gamer identity” discussion is really its own attempt to stratify the group by writing out people you find personally distasteful or problematic.

    Finally I’ve found this whole discussion frustrating because I feel like I’m being attacked. I know the death of gamer identity articles aren’t directed at me because I find the treatment of Anita Sarkisian appalling and think representation in gaming is a problem that needs to be addressed but I proudly identify as a gamer. Games have been hugely influential in my life, they’ve helped shape how I think and who I am as a person, I hope for the better. The articles on gamasutra, vice, polygon and others that god widely linked last week feel like they are taking shots at me because I think gamer is an identity worth having even though I’d probably agree with the authors on the merits. This seems to be a general problem within social justice movements broadly, the points being made are quite reasonable but the rhetoric is often overheated or deliberately inflammatory that it pushes away people who would be allies.

    • When people feel attacked they get angry and emotional. When people get angry nuanced thinking goes out the window, and they start seeing the world in stereotypes and ugly ones at that. Some small subset of them then lash out in very extreme and very stupid ways.

      That goes whether the people who’re feeling stereotyped and attacked are “women”, “gamers”, “men”, “black people”, “white people”, “Muslims”, whatever.

      The reality of life is that whatever you are you’ve been stereotyped your whole life in assorted ways by various subsets of people and you’re probably not thrilled about it.

      People are quick to be hurt when they are on the receiving end of a negative stereotype, slow to notice when they’re doing the stereotyping of others.

  5. I think it’s a part of being human that we like to form patterns and rationalise the world to make it easier to deal with. Grouping people under labels is probably our way of simplifying what we see in the world around us. I think in some cases it can make it easier to know how to act when meeting new people. If somebody claims to be a gamer It gives me a good idea for where to start when making conversation with them for the first time.

    I don’t like it when people make assumptions based on my gender, how I dress or my interests, but I do often use labels to refer to myself. It’s just a way for me to easily communicate my own sense of identity. Saying I’m a gamer, geek and part-time goth says a lot about who I am, but only in the broadest sense. So long as we know that such labels do not describe us wholly I don’t have a problem with using them – if they did it’d be pretty boring getting to know people. For example, geeks are sometimes shown to be ugly, socially awkward creatures, but in truth a lot aren’t like that at all. I use the word as a way to simply describe some of my personality traits. Some people think goths are miserable and like to think about death a lot, but to me it just refers to my taste in clothes and music. As for gamers, just because we may all brandish the same label it doesn’t mean we all like the same things; there are many different subsets. Even though I play the odd FPS I don’t like to throw myself in with the shooter crowd because I have a stronger preference for RPGs. I often find that RPG fans seem to act quite differently to those that like shooters or other genres… etc… It’d be unfair to treat us like we were all the same.

    I think another reason people may like to label themselves is because it makes you feel like you’re a part of something bigger. It feels good to be socially accepted and to be a part of a larger community. I think labels can be good and bad and it depends on how we use them. I don’t have a problem with the use of the word gamer, although I can see how it may be thought of as a way to create a barrier between us and everyone else.

    • When you say you’re a geek and a gamer it gives me an idea of what you *might* be interested in and what interests we *might* have in common. So it would give some place to take the conversation next, like finding out what genres you’re into, whether you work in tech, etc. (As it happens I’m not into FPS either.)

      One thing here is that knowing a fair amount of people who could be called geeks or gamers or both, I’m well aware how varied they can be. But I’ve only ever known one goth reasonably well, so I don’t have that much of a picture of them as a group, and what picture I have is influenced by the media a fair bit because I don’t have a lot else to go on.

      • Goths tend to be targeted a lot (which is why I don’t dress up all the time,) but I think to many outsiders it seems like a really dark scary culture. In the book ‘Reality is Broken’ by Jane McGonigal there was one bit that mentioned something about creating a game to get people at a goth festival to interact more in a positive way and stating it as a success because we’re not known for being the cheeriest of crowds. This to me felt like it was basing the idea on a stereotype. I’ve been to a goth festival myself and it was actually pretty upbeat and vibrant. Everyone looked happy and was having a good time. You also get goth geeks and one of my favourite singers sang songs about Star Trek, Dr Who and Star Wars. In fact it’s interesting how much geeks, gamers and goths can overlap (at comic con I was surprised to find goth clothes for sale alongside games, comics, manga and sci-fi merchandise.) To me being a goth also means expressing individuality and not judging people for how they look.

        I dislike the negative stereotype and the fact that many different cultures are under-represented in the media or done so poorly – I think this happens to geeks too. I obviously can’t speak on behalf of all geeks and goths, but from my own experience they certainly don’t fit the stereotypes many people believe – I was once told that all girl gamers are ugly and overweight and I’ve yet to mean one who actually is. To be honest when I see people who look like gamers or goths I instantly feel more at ease with them because I feel like there’s a stronger chance that they’ll get me for who I am. The labels help to lower some of the social barriers that come with meeting new people.

      • I guess I’ll be learning a bit more about what goths might be like from your blog. Btw, like your regular “Celebrate The Small Things” posts. Great idea, and not at all in keeping with the goth stereotype.

Leave a Reply

