Tolkien Themed Questionnaire, Part 1

uruk hai

I discovered a fascinating Tolkien questionnaire thanks to Alice Greenleaf. (You can read her answers here: Part 1, Part 2. The questionnaire is by Myla, and her own answers are here. And here’s another response, by Britta Siemen.)

Let’s get on with the questions…

1. Books or movies?

Books! The movies are great, but there’s so much more to the books. I think Christopher Tolkien who isn’t pleased with the movies has said something about them lacking the “seriousness and beauty” of his father’s work. I think that comment is harsh, but it is hard to do the books justice in movie form. The books have considerably greater depth, substance and resonance for me.

2. Which character do you connect with the most?

That’s a hard question because I can connect with a lot of them in different ways at different times. Which is the “most” probably changes depending on my mood and such. But you wanted me to pick one, so here goes…

When I first read the books (prob about age 14) I think it was Aragorn, especially in his Strider phase. Being a weather-worn, solitary hero who knows his stuff, keeps his head and does what’s necessary was appealing.

As I’ve gotten older my perspective on some things has changed, and maybe now it’s more Elrond:

The face of Elrond was ageless, neither old nor young, though in it was written the memory of many things both glad and sorrowful

“I have seen three ages in the West of the world, and many defeats, and many fruitless victories.”

“The might of Elrond is in wisdom not in weapons, it is said. I come to ask for counsel and the unravelling of hard words.”

3. What are your top 5 favorite tracks from the soundtracks?

I think I’ve going to have to listen to them all again, if only to remind myself of the names of the tracks…

Tricky to whittle down to just five, but I don’t want to leave any of these out!

  • Concerning Hobbits
  • The Ring Goes South
  • May it Be
  • Foundations of Stone
  • Into the West

4. Which scene always makes you cry?

Being a manly sort, I don’t actually cry, though I may get a little teary eyed. And it’s more often through being moved than being sad. One scene that has that effect on me is the “You bow to no-one” from ROTK:

5. Where would you live in Middle-earth?

Another tough one, there are so many wonderful places! I’ll say Rivendell. I’d love the mountain setting, the beauty of the valley, having the run of Elrond’s library, and all those elves to talk to!

6. Which race would you be?

It’d be a toss up between Elf and Hobbit. Perhaps an Elf-influenced Hobbit like Bilbo and Frodo?

7. Orcs or Uruk-hai?

Uruk-hai are more fearsome in every way, surely!

8. Favorite character?

How can you even choose? But just for the sake of variety in my answers, I’ll pick Gollum! One of the most unique characters in fiction.

9. Which character do you look the most like?

I’m not sure I look that much like any of them, but the closest might be Boromir. I’m not nearly as large though.

10. Who is your favorite paring? (canon or non-canon)

Beren and Luthien. Or if you want to restrict it to LOTR only, Aragorn and Arwen.

11. Who is your least favorite paring? (canon or non-canon)

I don’t really read Tolkien fanfic, esp with non-canon pairings. I find changing people’s sexuality and personalities a bit distasteful generally. So I’ll say Frodo/Sam as representative of that.

12. What unpopular opinion do you have for the movies?

I don’t know what opinions are popular or unpopular! How about that I’m glad that Bombadil was left out?

13. If you could change anything about the movies, what would it be?

There’s plenty I’d change, though those things might well have made the movies less commercially successful. Top of my list is that I’d restore Denethor to the character he is in the books, being vastly more wise, capable, tortured and tragic than he is in the movies.

14. How do you think Tolkien would have felt about Peter Jackson’s adaptations?

My guess is he’d have pretty mixed feelings, but overall feel fairly pleased. Some things he’d love, some he’d hate.

15. Whose wardrobe would you like to have?

I think Legolas’ outfits would suit me the best. I can go for an outdoorsy huntsman look. Plus I’d fancy the bow as well.

Credits: Uruk Hai photo from flickr

5 thoughts on “Tolkien Themed Questionnaire, Part 1

  1. Interesting questionnaire. For the most part I find adaptations will never match the real thing. Films can only fit so much detail in during limited screen time after all, while we may find ourselves reading a book over a much greater period of time. Considering the depth of the universe I think they are actually some of the best adaptations I’ve seen. The books are also fairly heavy going and not for everybody, so it’s great that some people get the chance to experience the universe in a way that might suit them better. I’ve only read the Hobbit and listened to some of The Lord Of The Rings on audio, but I hope to read through them all one day. Oh yeah, I’d either be a hobbit or an elf – hobbits lead an appealing lifestyle, but elves are so agile.

    • I could write a whole blog post about many of those questions!

      It’s intriguing that you find LOTR heavy going. When I first read it, I paced myself to reading one chapter a day. Not because it was hard going though, but because I didn’t want it to end. But I did skim over some of the more descriptive parts.

      The BBC radio adaptation is a very good one btw if you want to try out an audio version. It’s about 12 hours, so a lot shorter than the unabridged audiobook version. Also full-cast dramatization with some fine actors helps.

      • I know the feeling of wanting to draw something out because you love is so much you just don’t want it to end. Well, I’ve talked to a few people that have attempted to read it but then struggled with it – maybe because of the descriptive parts. I was quite young when I tried it and so maybe I’ll find it easier now. I’ll look into that version.

      • There have been a few books that I just couldn’t get into the first few pages of when I first tried reading them, but when I came back years later to try again I just loved them. Game of Thrones (the first book in the series) was like that for me.

        If you’re having trouble reading the Prologue (or whatever it’s called) to LOTR, I can see why that could be hard going. I prob skimmed over that first time, or at least didn’t worry too much about getting all the info straight in my head.

  2. Pingback: Tolkien Themed Questionnaire, Part 2 | Thinking Play

Leave a Reply

